Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray to Norton Nicholls, 26 January 1769

Back to Letters page

Are you not well, or what has happen'd to you? it is better than three weeks since I wrote to you (by Norwich & Yarmouth) to say, I was return'd hither, & hoped to see you; that Trin: Hall Lodge would be vacant, as Hallifax told me, to receive Mrs N: & you, & we expected you with impatience. I have had a sore throat, & now am getting well of ye gout. Mason will be here on Tuesday. Palgrave keeps Lent at home & wants to be ask'd to break it. Dr Law has bit at the Bishoprick, & gives up near 800£ a-year to enjoy it: Dr Ross has his Prebend of Durham.

Adieu, I am
T G:

Duty to Mamma.

Letter ID: letters.0549 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771
Writer's age: 52
Addressee: Nicholls, Norton, c. 1742-1809
Addressee's age: 27[?]


Date of composition: 26 January 1769
Date (on letter): Jan: 26. 1769
Calendar: Gregorian


Place of composition: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Address (on letter): Pemb: Hall

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.S.; 1 page


Language: English
Incipit: Are you not well, or what has happen'd to you? it is better than three weeks...
Mentioned: Cambridge
Mason, William, 1724-1797
Palgrave, William, 1735-1799

Holding Institution

College Library, Eton College , Windsor, UK <>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes; bound into a copy of Mathias's Works of Thomas Gray (London, 1814), vol. II, part 2; a photocopy is at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, OSB MSS c 467, box 1, folder 79

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, letter XVIII, vol. v, 87
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCCXLII, vol. iii, 219
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 491, vol. iii, 1054-1055