Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray/[? ] to Norton Nicholls, [7 June 1769]

Back to Letters page

I have just recollected that Mr Boycot may possibly be able to give you some assistance.

P:S: Well! why, you don't say any thing to me. here am I; & as soon as our ceremonies are over, look with your telescope at the top of Skiddaw, & you will see me.

Letter ID: letters.0555 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writers: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771 and
Writers's age: 52 and [u
Addressee: Nicholls, Norton, c. 1742-1809
Addressee's age: 27[?]


Date of composition: [7 June 1769]
Date (on letter): Wednsday June 7th
Calendar: Gregorian


Place of composition: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Address (on letter): Pembroke

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.; 1 page


Language: English
Incipit: I have just recollected that Mr Boycot may possibly be able to give...
Mentioned: Skiddaw

Holding Institution

College Library, Eton College , Windsor, UK <>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes; bound into a copy of Mathias's Works of Thomas Gray (London, 1814), vol. II, part 2; a photocopy is at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, OSB MSS c 467, box 1, folder 83

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, letter XXI, vol. v, 95
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCCXLV, vol. iii, 224
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 496, vol. iii, 1061