Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray to James Brown, [10 October 1769]

Back to Letters page

Dear Sir

I set out on the 29th September, with poor Doctor Wharton, and lay at Brough, but he was seized with a fit of the asthma the same night, and obliged in the morning to return home. I went by Penrith to Keswick, and passed six days there lap'd in Elysium; then came slowly by Ambleside to Kendal, and this day arrived here. I now am projecting to strike across the hills into Yorkshire, by Settle, and so get to Mason's; then, after a few days, I shall move gently towards Cambridge. The weather has favoured all my motions just as I could wish.

I received your letter of 23 Sept.; was glad you deviated a little from the common track, and rejoiced you got well and safe home.

I am, ever yours
T. G.
Letter ID: letters.0563 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771
Writer's age: 52
Addressee: Brown, James, 1709-1784
Addressee's age: 60[?]


Date of composition: [10 October 1769]
Date (on letter): [10 Oct. 1769]
Calendar: Gregorian


Place of composition: [Lancaster, United Kingdom]
Address (on letter): [Lancaster]


Language: English
Incipit: I set out on the 29th September, with poor Doctor Wharton, and lay at...
Mentioned: Ambleside
Wharton, Thomas, 1717-1794

Holding Institution

Availability: The original letter is unlocated, a copy, transcription, or published version survives

Print Versions

  • The Correspondence of Thomas Gray and William Mason, with Letters to the Rev. James Brown, D.D. Ed. by the Rev. John Mitford. London: Richard Bentley, 1853, letter CXXVI, 432
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCCLI, vol. iii, 232
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 504, vol. iii, 1074